I work as a Project Manager in Construction and I hate it – what else could I do with my experience?

Answer by Fareed A.S.:

You will perhaps not like my answer but I must say that if you ‘hate it’ then you don’t belong there. I wonder how you came to be the Project Manager in construction if you don’t like your work? You must have risen through the ranks to be where you are. On top of that you are getting MSc in PM? Are you sure you have your goals clear? If you don’t like this boring job, you have the option of going back to doing architecture or copywriting. I’m assuming you were good at those jobs. But you left them … so you were either not good or you didn’t enjoy them as well. The question is …. what do you enjoy doing? Don’t just rely on experience. People having years of experience in something are often better at something else. Don’t be afraid to try out something else … something that motivates you. Also try working at a contracting company, instead of client. That is much more challenging anyway.

I work as a Project Manager in Construction and I hate it – what else could I do with my experience?

Comments

